POINT OF INTEREST  CHURCHES

Church of Sant'Angelo

Mentioned in written sources from 1147 onwards, the church of Sant'Angelo is the oldest building in the town.

×

More information :

Mentioned in written sources from 1147 onwards, the church of Sant'Angelo is the oldest building in the town. Between 1229 and 1239, what was once the small chapel of the Castle of Sant'Angelo was rebuilt, taking on the appearance it retains today.

It was a parish church until the Tarlati family expelled all the inhabitants from the keep and the parish priest moved to the church of San Giuliano.

The major transformations occurred after 1532, when the nuns of San Girolamo built the convent on the western side of the keep, using the old church.

They divided the area intended for the courthouse with a long wall; they also reversed the orientation of the church, creating a new entrance on the side of the building (today's entrance to the Pinacoteca).

In 1548, they built the Nuns' Choir, which allowed the nuns to follow the rites without being seen. The main altar, designed by Filippo Berrettini, was placed under the rose window at the entrance.

The church, suppressed in 1785, was used as a hospital and, during the French occupation, as a warehouse. After restoration, it was included in the Pinacoteca Comunale (Municipal Art Gallery).

The building has a single nave, a gabled façade, and sandstone block walls. Inside, it has a rectangular floor plan, with walls embellished with Gothic-style arches and single-lancet windows.

The structure covers much older buildings: in the crypt, during restoration work, several wall alignments made of large square blocks belonging to the Etruscan city walls (4th century BC) were discovered.

Archaic Etruscan (bucchero and impasto) and Hellenistic (grey and black-glazed ceramic) finds were displayed in two display cases, as well as a cinerary urn lid with an Etruscan inscription (3rd century BC).

How to Get Here

Address:


()

View in Maps

Contacts

Below are our contacts through which you can reach us:

Share the page

Below are our references through which you can contact us:

You might also be interested in ...

Drag or swipe the images for a more immersive experience.

Cassero

Located in the highest part of the town, the Cassero complex dominates the entire Valdichiana and still retains its medieval defensive structure.

View More

Collegiate Church of Saints Michael and Julian

Stands out for its neoclassical structure and its loggia with massive columns resting on travertine bases.

View More

Walks of Saint Francis

The Ways of St. Francis in Tuscany are a nearly 300-kilometer path that leads pilgrims and travelers to places linked to key episodes in the life of the Saint.

View More

Church of Sant'Agostino

View More

Church of San Francesco

The church, overlooking the square of the same name, was built by the Franciscans in the mid-13th century over a pre-existing 12th-century structure, first dedicated to San Salvatore and then to San Leonardo.

View More

Loggiato Vasariano

In front of the Town Hall we find the so-called Vasari loggia: in reality the nine-arched construction, built on the occasion of the reconstruction of the current Town Hall square, dates back to 1513.

View More

Church of the Good Death

The Company of Prayer and Death, or Company of the Good Death, was founded in 1572 to organize a service of prayer, transportation, and burial of the deceased.

View More

Castle of Montecchio Vesponi

The Montecchio Vesponi Castle is one of the most evocative fortresses in all of Tuscany.

View More

Institute of Santa Chiara

The complex was founded in the 16th century, when the monastery of San Salvatore was incorporated, which underwent significant expansion after 1557.

View More

Clock Tower

A large structure which, since the Middle Ages, marked the access to the Cassero

View More